Renate Summer

My talent for drawing and painting revealed itself for the first time at the tender age of 4. After completion of high school and scholarship studies at the School of Applied Arts in Graz, under well-known professors A. E. Osterider and Alexander Silveri, I spent more than 30 years as an art educator. During that entire time I maintained a public presence through numerous exhibits in Austria as well as England, France, Hungary, Italy and the United States.

Since 2007, I have produced domestic and international exhibits in cooperation with my daughter Eva.

Together, we’ve presented Art & Fashion in the gallery aboard the MS Europa at the invitation of Hapag Lloyd. Other joint exhibits, held at the Hotel Le Meridien, Vienna, in the Stone Hall of the State House in Graz, at the Sharpenberg Gallery in Chicago, at the Austrian Embassy in Washington, DC and the Neue Wiener Werkstätten, are a testament to our success.

Since the summer of 2010, I’ve been working primarily in our studio in Gratwein, where nature and proximity to the Abbey of Rein provide important sources of inspiration.

My Relationship to Art

Art is a passion that burns inside of me, yet has to be constantly rekindled.

Tranquil surroundings, nature and classical music are my sources of inspiration.

To be working as an artist takes not only the proper talent, but also a creative impetus, a sense for beauty, intensive experiences, creative responsibility and the appropriate humility.

For me, art is a lot like love. It takes inspiration, intuition, empathy and the ability to make visible inner, soul-level processes with a lot of imagination. Art is what connects us to our humanity on the deepest level. It is a gift from God that distinguishes mankind as creative, soulful creatures.

I would like to further emphasize that I create my art through spontaneous expression, in combination with the above-mentioned values. My paintings are marked by strong colors and vigorous but sensitive lines, which evoke in the viewer a sense of musical rhythm. Because of my affinity for art history, the arc of my creations spans themes from antiquity to Renaissance, and all the way to modern art.

Renate Summer

Bereits im Alter von 4 Jahren machte sich bei mir ein malerisches Talent bemerkbar. Nach der Gymnasialzeit und der fundierten Ausbildung an der Kunstgewerbeschule in Graz, bei den renommierten Professoren A. E. Osterider und Alexander Silveri, arbeitete ich zunächst mehr als 3 Jahrzehnte als Kunsterzieherin. Auch in dieser Zeit war ich ständig künstlerisch präsent, was durch zahlreiche Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland wie z.B. in England, Frankreich, Ungarn, Italien und den USA dokumentiert ist.
Seit 2007 gestalte ich gemeinsam mit meiner Tochter Eva Summer unsere nationalen und internationalen Ausstellungen.
Präsentationen von Kunst und Mode in der bordeigenen Galerie der MS Europa, welche auf Einladung durch Hapag Lloyd erfolgte. Weitere Ausstellungen im Hotel Le Meriedien Wien, im Steinernen Saal des Landhauses Graz, der Sharpenberg Gallery in Chicago, der Österreichischen Botschaft in Washington oder den Neuen Wiener Werkstätten dokumentieren unseren gemeinsamen Erfolg.

Mein Bezug zur Kunst

Die Kunst ist eine Leidenschaft, die in mir brennt aber immer wieder neu entfacht werden muss.
Inspirationsquellen sind die Stille, die Natur und die klassische Musik.
Um künstlerisch tätig zu sein, ist nicht nur ein entsprechendes Talent notwendig, sondern auch Gestaltungswille, der Sinn für das Schöne, intensives Erleben, Verantwortung gegenüber der Schöpfung und die dazugehörende Demut.
Kunst hat für mich sehr viel mit Liebe zu tun, auch mit Inspiration, Intuition sowie Einfühlungsvermögen und der Fähigkeit, mit viel Fantasie innerseelische Prozesse sichtbar zu machen. Kunst ist das, was uns am tiefsten mit unserem Menschsein verbindet. Ein Gottesgeschenk, das den Menschen als schöpferisches und beseeltes Wesen auszeichnet.
Zu meiner Arbeit möchte ich festhalten, dass mir der spontane Ausdruck wichtig ist, der sich mit den bereits genannten Werten verbindet. Meine Bilder zeichnen sich durch starke Farbigkeit, kraftvolle aber auch sensible Linienführung aus, wobei beim Betrachten ein musikalischer Rhythmus spürbar wird. Aufgrund meiner Affinität zur Kunstgeschichte spannt sich der Bogen meiner Themen von der Antike über die Renaissance bis hin zur Moderne.